Day 20 of yeast & Creating my “LEAVEN”

At  6:00pm I made my leaven. Just a reminder according to the oxford dictionary , Leaven is  generally a substance, typically yeast, that is added to dough so that it may ferment and rise

My instructions were to

For the leaven, transfer into a fresh small, clear bowl 1 tablespoon of your culture from the bottom of the last bowl (as before, just a little bit more). To this, add 1 2⁄3 cups of flour mix and 1⁄2 plus 1⁄3 of a cup of water. Cover the bowl with a kitchen towel. Incubate it in a cool, dark corner in your kitchen overnight. You should probably prepare the leaven by 7pm at the latest. Post a photo of your culture.

As you can see from the picture, the leaven is huge compared to what I called my previous culture. It’s definitely not as liquified, and it actually stuck to my hand a lot and was hard to get off.

Now that I have my leaven, I will let it incubate over night and in the morning I will do my float test. Curious to see what a float test is? Check back tomorrow morning.

day 20 yeast
Day 20 yeast, This is what it looked like before I did the transfer to create my leaven
tranferres 20 day yeast
Transfer of active yeast. A little more than 1 teaspoon
measurement of flour
1 and 2/3rd of flour mix for leaven
1 and 2-3rd of flour
The flour mix added to the transferred active yeast
my Leaven
Lukewarm water added to the flour mix to create my leaven. This will be incubated in a dark area until the next morning
2 thoughts on “Day 20 of yeast & Creating my “LEAVEN”

Leave a Reply

